Outreach » Professional Development

Professional Development

 
28th Annual Educational Interpreters Institute Webinar
 
Dates: June 22-24, 2020
 
Location: Tennessee School for the Deaf Webinar
 
*Registration is now closed. Payment deadline due June 15th.
 
 
Monday, June 22, 2020: Online Social - 7:00 - 8:00 pm EST / 6:00 - 7:00 pm CST
 
Tuesday, June 23, 2020: Workshop Schedule and Information
 
9:00 am - 12:15 pm EST / 8:00 am - 11:15 am CST - Tenses in ASL (ASL only, no voice interpreting provided)
Presenter: Molly O'Hara 
Educational Objectives: This session teaches which changes in hand shape, non-manual signs, and movement indicate changes in the verb tense (ASL). Past tenses are covered first before moving on to future and present tenses. The proper and improper uses of FINISH, NOW, and WILL are explored.
  • Learn irregular verbs
  • Use FINISH, NOW, and WILL appropriately
  • Incorporate the markers of past, future, and present tenses into sentences
 
1:30 - 4:45 pm EST / 12:30 - 3:45 pm CST - Factoring ASL Features in the EIPA (ASL only, no voice interpreting provided)
Presenter: Molly O'Hara 
Educational Objectives: This session offers a study and practice of ASL features pertinent to taking the EIPA that are often missed or misunderstood by interpreters. Prosodic markers of ASL phrases and clauses are examined in depth. When the sequence of words in a phrase or a clause is PSE, ASL features may be preserved at the level of the sentence.
  • Use non-manual markers correctly when marking syntactical boundaries of ASL
  • Correctly use two dominant hands simultaneously at a syntactical level
  • Apply ASL prosody to a PSE construct
  • Employ classifiers in the way that they are meant to be used.  
 
 
Wednesday, June 24, 2020: Workshop Schedule
 
Workshop Times
ASL Conjunctions & 7 Sentence Types
 
 
.15 CEUs
Deaf with Disabilities: Overcoming Barriers
 
.15 CEUs
Interpreting for Standardized Testing
 
 
.15 CEUs 
Medical Aspects of Deafness & Technology
 
 
.15 CEUs
When Acting Meets Interpreting
 
 
.15 CEUs
9:00 – 10:30 am EST/
8:00 – 9:30 am CST
VOICE INTERPRETED SPOKEN ENGLISH ONLY ASL ONLY INTERPRETED SPOKEN ENGLISH ONLY
11:00 am – 12:30 pm EST/
10:00 am – 11:30 am CST
ASL ONLY ASL ONLY ASL ONLY SPOKEN ENGLISH ONLY INTERPRETED
1:30 – 3:00 pm EST/
12:30 – 2:00 pm CST
ASL ONLY SPOKEN ENGLISH ONLY VOICE INTERPRETED SPOKEN ENGLISH ONLY SPOKEN ENGLISH ONLY
 
ASL Conjunctions and 7 ASL Sentence Types
Presenters: Bryan Bowen & Justine Hardin
Educational Objectives: Participants will learn and understand on how and when to use ASL conjunctions and ASL seven sentence types typically found in educational settings.
 
Interpreting for Standardized Testing (Paper and Online)
Presenter: Kristina Bernhardt
Educational Objectives:
  • Participants will know what the TCAP is and what it is consisted of
  • Participants will understand the legal responsibilities of their role (including what they cannot do)
  • Participants will learn appropriate ways of interpreting the test questions from English to ASL while maintaining the integrity of the test
  • Participants will establish ethical responses to interpreting for test questions for the subject of English.
 
Interpreting for Students who are Deaf with Disabilities - Overcoming Barriers
Presenters: Danielle Petersen & Shannon Osborne
Educational Objectives: Group discussions to provide participants an opportunity to identify student needs, goals and objectives, challenges and barriers, strategies and outcomes of working with a student who is deaf with a disability. Apply and brain storm new strategies. Understand the "WHY?" behind challenges and approaches to overcoming barriers to communication. 
 
Medical Aspects of Deafness and Technology
Presenter: Crista Duncan
Educational Objectives: To provide educational interpreters a better understanding of various levels of deafness. Help them learn to trouble shoot simple problems with technology. 
 
 
When Acting Meets Interpreting
Presenter: Tracey Copeland Halter
Educational Objectives: Participants will learn and review basic acting/theatre related principals and how those can be applied in the K-12 interpreting setting. Participants will study samples of actors to see how they manage representation of multiple characters.